The Derwent Valley Heritage Way can be walked as a complete route or in sections.

There are plenty of things to do and places to eat and to stay, so why not take your time to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Derwent Valley as it winds through the Peak District and past Derbyshire’s industrial heritage?


Section Start and end points km miles total miles
1 Ladybower to Hathersage 9.5 6 6
2 Hathersage to Baslow 11.5 7 13
3 Baslow to Rowsley 8 5 18
4 Rowsley to Matlock 9 5.5 23.5
5 Matlock to Whatstandwell 10 6.5 30
6 Whatstandwell to Belper 9.5 6 36
7 Belper to Little Eaton 7.5 4.5 40
8 Little Eaton to Derby city centre 6.5 4 44
9 Derby city centre to Borrowash 9 5.5 50
10 Borrowash to Derwent Mouth 10 6 55

The Derwent Valley Heritage Way has been developed by the Derwent Valley Trust.  The Trust was established to secure recognition of the valley as The National Heritage Corridor to promote its landscape, wildlife and heritage in a sustainable way.  The Trust works through partnerships with organisations that share its vision including local authorities, the Peak District National Park, local businesses and societies.